Sabah is the largest of Malaysian Borneo’s two states. It is situated on the north-east side of the island of Borneo, facing the South China Sea. Its overseas neighbours are the Philippines to the north-east and Vietnam to the north-west. It shares land borders with the Malaysian state of Sarawak to the west along with the Sultanate of Brunei which is sandwiched between the two. It shares its southern border is with the Indonesian state of Kalimantan. Sabah offers a variety of compelling tourist attractions; it’s beachside resorts, including two Shangri-La properties and the Magellan Sutera complex, located close to the state capital of Kota Kinabalu; its extensive natural rainforest and wildlife regions including Kinabalu Park, home to Malaysia’s highest mountain, the Tabin Wildlife Reserve, and Danum Valley Conservation area, a stronghold for the much-loved orang-utan. Sabah also offers the visitor a number of ecofriendly habitat experiences including Gaya Island, Bunga Raya Resort and rainforest habitats.

Other Destinations in Borneo